I met with a second recruiter downtown in ther heart of Canada’s financial world. The walk downtown on a busy Thursday afternoon is a totally different world. It’s a time when everyone’s wrapping up lunch and heading back to their offices, and on this warm and sunny late summer day, the mood outside seemed livelier than I’ve seen. Mind you, I haven’t been downtown too often these days.

You know what it felt like walking downtown today? As I came out of the subway, it felt like I was swimming down a tributary in a big river system, joining all of the other kinds of fish swimming in the same direction. One sudden stop and the guy behind snubs your heel; one unannounced turn and you’re cutting off the faster “swimmer” on the left.

I couldn’t help but ask myself, do I want to be here? Is this where I want to be? Is this where I should be?

Of course, only God knows the answer of the last question. If I could have it my way, I’d probably not be there at all! I’d be hidden away on a farm on the other side of the Kai Mai’s, watching Jasper run on the green grass and singing to the crowd of daisies. I’d see Suz leaning on the door frame at the porch, smiling with amazement and amusement that our son sings and plays and celebrates the simplest things in life.

Hmmm…that’s if I could have it my way. And I know that there’s purpose here for me, and I’m not here by accident. So on with the show!

I also noticed this afternoon that no matter how fancy and elaborate a building we build, the people that go them are still the same. There was nothing fancy or elaborate about the people at the office I entered. I felt as if I had walked into a living cliche: gum-chewing receptionist fixing her make-up while letting the phone ring one too many times.

The interviewer asked me the standard questions. What kind of work are you aiming for? What are your strengths (and weaknesses)? What would your co-workers say about you? What’s your biggest accomplishment?

There weren’t many “situational-behaviorial” questions, which kind of seemed odd. I suppose she must have been tired of asking the same questions over and over. I couldn’t imagine recruiting people every single minute of a work day, but I guess that ‘s why I’m jobless and they’re not.

