I shouldn’t make this a habit, writing my jobless posts each Friday. There’s no fun or humour in being jobless, and although my faith allows me to look upwards, I know that there are others who feel like there’s no hope in sight.

I had a terrible interview yesterday, first with the Director of HR and then the two hiring managers. It was definitely not a positive interview for me, though I think the two hiring managers let me off easily. I hung my head all the way home, wondering what in the world I was doing interviewing at a place for a position I had no reason applying for. Nonetheless, I know that God’s bigger than all of this, and His ways are ultimately better than my ways.

I applied for an ESL position yesterday, my first application here in Canada. Waiting to see what happens there. I’m hoping to get some kind of response because of my extensive experience and job fit, but I’m not counting on it.

In other news, I’m reading a fantastic book about farming, agriculture, and the lives of farmers. It’s called Fields of Plenty by Michael Ableman, and it’s his philosophical and practical observations taken from a summer’s journey across America, visiting selected farms and interviewing the farmers. He has such a wonderful voice, one that clearly reflects his passion for farming. As an experienced farmer himself, he knows the rewards and perils of farm life, and he places you into the lives of unique farmers across America. You get to meet goat farmers, cheese makers, ice cream makers, market gardeners, urban market gardeners, and long-standing “back to the land” enthusiasts. Truly one of my best reads this year.

 Fields of Plenty: A Farmer’s Journey in Search of Real Food and the People Who Grow It.

