Today at the library I picked up an evironmentally-friendly, positively encouraging little book called “Change the World for Ten Bucks: 50 ways to make a difference.”  It’s got a funky, witty, visually-rich list of 50 things we can all do to make our world, environment, and surroundings a better place for us and everyone around us. Sound neat? It is. Socially-engaging (or at least attempting to be) and eco-awareness-raising, this book has some really heartwarming ideas about how to make a difference with our lives. The premise is based on a movement that has a very simple banner statement: we are what we do. And I suppose that although it’s seemingly tautological, it makes perfect sense to reflect on how we do everyday things, and how those everyday actions reflect our identities and or social commitments.

Do I let people go ahead of me at the expense of a short delay, or do I bark madly at people who bud in line? Do I curse those who litter or do I kindly pick up some trash every day? Do I leave the tap running while I brush my teeth, or do I turn on all the lights and electrical applicances in my apartment? These are questions that you may be asking yourself after the quick and simple read (and rightly so in this day and age: the questions, I mean, not the quick and easy read).

