I’ve just spent the last hour and a bit writing short experience profiles,  and one medium length essay about teaching. It’s such an interesting discipline to be able to write something in limited space, maximizing both style and content. Blogging allows me to write freely, without as much attention to style (and arguably content).

It’s also a time to reflect on all of the great teaching experiences I’ve had overseas. China was my first, so it always has a special place in my heart. Taiwan is where I met my wife, and it was a teaching experience that had a steep learning curve. As I wrote in my experience profile, Taiwan came in early days and I made so many teaching mistakes. If making mistakes is such a good teacher, then I must have had the best teacher in Taiwan!

I wrote about Japan and the mixture of classes I had there. From kindergarten kids to housewives, from retirees to engineers: this is the great variety that private language schools offer in Japan.

At the top of my list was Thailand: most recent, longest time spent, and best memories. My son was born there, my wife and I spent or 3-year honeymoon there, and we developed the most ties there. My duties extended beyond the classroom, moving into adminsitration and planning duties. I am, of course, so thankful for that opportunity.

At dinner tonight I found myself a little worried about the application. I think any time the question, “What if” pops into mind, there is a likely chance that the thought turns negative. What if I don’t get a job? What if it doesn’t happen? What if I don’t get in?

The only answer to those soul-gripping questions, especially when the string of possible answers turns negative, is to let God answer for you. There’s no need to answer the possible question. God’s in control: He’ll answer for you! At the end of the day, He’s the one who’s in control of your life, so He’ll deal with the “What if I don’t get in?”

If you’re doubting, let God do all the talking for you. (And that’s my own voice trying to reassure me!)

