I’m home with Jasper today. My wife is out having some “me” time, which contrary to her own wishes, I think is good for her. She spends the whole week, all of her waking hours, taking care of our son. So this is a necessary break for her.

One struggle that I’ve had over the past week is battling the clock. That is to say, I feel as though there simply aren’t enough hours in the day to get what I need (or want) done. From the time I get up to the time I lay down, it seems like a go-go-go ferris wheel. I suppose things calm down on the weekends, especially at a time like this when Jasper is asleep (for a nap). Clearly I’m not the only dad to suffer from this dilema, though that brings little comfort to my heart.

I think this probably puts pressure on our marriage as we struggle to cope with our roles and then find the time for each other. I suppose that’s an additional problem: dealing with the problem of solving the problem. Humph.

Sometimes I feel as though I’m spinning in vertigo, out of control, not sure what it is that grounds me. I’m only brought back into a standstill when I see things from an eternal viewpoint, which makes this moment of strange and ethereal spinning seem like a blip on the radar. God is with us, always, never to leave us, never to forsake us. That is an eternal message to those who can read, and an eternal promise to those who believe.

