We are restless in our current stations in life.  There must be hundreds of thousands of us, if not millions of restless people. Restless in their minds. Restless in their spirits.

I have no doubt these days that I am restless. I make no excuses for being a restless person. I don’t shy away from that description. Married I may be; with children I may be; restless still applies.

My wife and I are truly restless. We feel the need to move, the need to live, the need to experience.

I read this article from the Globe and Mail about an English teacher in Japan, Michael Kanert, who is battling the tension between staying in Japan or moving back home to Canada (click here to go to article). It amazes me how many must suffer this tension. Yet, what amazes me even more is the string of comments left by visitors to the article. There is a great polarity, one that borders on abusive and mocking, to the other that encourages a happy-go-lucky joie de vivre.

The question that always pops up is, what is life? What is it that drives you? What is it that amuses you, interests you, moves you, embraces you? How is it that we spend countless hours awake at night thinking about what could have been, what might have been, or what could be? Why is it that we spend so much of our time counting regretsor missed opportunities–or merely daydreaming–instead of living our lives in the moment? Why must there be a persistent conflict between “responsibilities” and what we want to do?

I say this as I ready myself for another move abroad, this time with a full family. Am I circumnavigating responsibility? Should I not have my heart set on acquiring the cottage by the lake or the SUV that my peers drive? Since when did a career path replace a life path? Or have I been disillusioned for my entire life?

Do we go to escape or to experience?

The vast majority of people in this world would consider it a blessing to travel, life, experience and enjoy another foreign culture. We are blessed to have this ability.

Where does the road lead, what rabbit trails will we go down, and what rabbit holes will we fall into, either gleefully or blindly? So what is that voice at the back of my head that says stay and make a life out what’s here in your home country?

We trust that God will take care of our needs, in both the short-term and the long-term, and that His wisdom will guide our steps. Are we crazy to move? Not even a bit, for we have the luxury to live our lives fully and completely, enjoying and savoring the moments given to us. We are truly blessed to have so many opportunities.

