I was reminded tonight that as we move into uncertain times of joblessness, trusting that our provisions will always be provided, we need to remain humble, willing, and ready to take on whatever work that is required. There are always aspects of jobs that we don’t like, and some times we feel as though the job duties are beneath us. Yet, I was reminded this evening that the God that I believe in sent his son to earth, to live as a carpenter, to wash his disciples’ feet, and to do what seemed to be the most unthinkable: to die for us. Puts things in perspective for me, and I realize that all the titles, degrees, honours, awards and applause mean nothing, and until I’m willing to be humble enough to serve with the right attitude, I probably won’t be able to live a godly life.

