One blessing in disguise during this season of unemployment is having the chance to see my son attend his first day of kindergarten. What a great memory to have, rich with emotions of the transition. I’ve only had two opportunities to pick him up since, and it’s always a gift to see him running out the door, searching, and then seeing me. He runs into my arms for a hug, and I soak it all up.

I think of the people I see on the streets who are struggling with many different life issues: addictions, homelessness, deep depression, hunger, mental health problems. I don’t compare myself, but I can’t help but think how I’m still in God’s mighty grip. I have food to eat, a loving family, a roof over my head, plenty left to offer the world, and I’m still positive about my job search.

Here’s praying that you’re still looking up to the one who sustains us all.

