When you go through a season of unemployment, it’s common to hit a brick wall. What I mean to say is that you often feel as though you’ve hit a brick wall, having exhausted all of your search resources. I might add that some feel this way in other areas of their lives.

When you reach this point, it’s hard not to fall victim to the fear, the worry and anxiety. This may stretch to mild depression and low self-esteem.

One thing I do know is that today is a brand new day. I have the entire day ahead of me to enjoy. Fresh air to breathe, I still have food to eat, and I can make myself a wonderful cup of tea or coffee. For my own sake, I need to remind myself that there are things beyond my nearsightedness that are more important, more worthy of my focus. Being nearsighted is such a common ailment when we hit that proverbial wall, but eventually we find a way over or around that wall. Once we’ve cleared that wall, we realize that we had placed far too much of our energy into worrying about that wall.

God help us to overcome.

God lead us around that wall. Strengthen us for the journey.

