Another Halloween has come and gone, and although this one was a truly festive one, it was certainly filled with moments of reflection.

This was the first Halloween to which my son could socially, culturally, and linguistically relate. He had all the right vocabulary, he was enthusiastic about the occasion, and he was old enough to approach the  neighbours’ doors. We had a lot of fun just watching him go door to door, speaking with strangers, and collecting his Halloween loot.

Living in an affluent neighbourhood when you, yourself, are not affluent, is not always a bad thing. The area school tends to be well-managed and supported, the streets are well maintained and picturesque, and life is quite enjoyable. But when you’re really living on the economic fringe of the core residents of this neighbourhood, it’s tough to swallow your envy as you walk from house to house, peering into their cosy, stylish, and ultimately expensive homes. I had to shake my head a few times to remind myself that these residents are simply at a different stage in their lives, and we’re obviously at a different stage from them. This doesn’t make us worse–it’s just a different time to adjust.

I know that the experience–swallowing my envy, fighting the jealousy, and trying not to beat myself up–is all for my good. God’s plan is to transform me, and I know that I can’t be transformed without the chisel stripping away my insecurities.

