February is just around the corner, the year’s biggest snow storm is approaching, and I find myself without work again. After finishing a five week contract, I’m here wondering what’s in store for me next. Reading the posts to my blog reminds me that I’m not alone in my situation. In fact, I don’t think we’re ever alone in our problems or crises. It’s just that we feel that way, blinded by our weakness, and not realizing that there’s a god who cares for us and who will never leave us nor foresake us.

I’m committing this approaching month of February to growing spiritually. I’m aiming to take each day as it comes, pray faithfully and wholeheartedly, and not be blinded anymore. I want to see beyond the difficulties and stress, to recapture a vibrant faith that I once had. I’m going to step out in faith, do the small things well, and be surprised by the things that God’s going to do for me.

I was sitting in church yesterday, feeling pretty much alone. My family was downstairs, some people I knew were in the pew behind me, but I still felt like I didn’t have the frame of mind that God wants and expects of me. I felt crusty, my heart hardened, afraid and alone.Sure I smiled and performed my church services, but I know that it’s not the true person that God wants me to be. He has given me so much more, and I simply need to open the blinds to see how much light there is.

I’m re-affirming that God is good. Regardless of my situation with work, finances, relationships, God is always good and He’s looking out for me.

